Saturday 16 September:

12.00 - 16.00


Hands on History Museum

Explore one of Hull’s oldest buildings, which first opened its doors as the Grammar School in 1585 and is now the Hands on History Museum. Famous pupils included 17th century poet Andrew Marvell and 18th century slavery abolitionist William Wilberforce.

The Tudor structure with its original brickwork and mullioned windows is now a listed building. Hands on History is also partly housed in the adjoining Fish Street Day School which was built as a charity school in 1871 but soon afterwards became a Board School. 

The ground floor offers a fascinating glimpse into Victorian childhood with a themed hands-on interactive exhibition which includes a Victorian school room. The first floor explores local history in the "The Story of Hull and its People" gallery and is also home to our “Ancient Egypt” exhibition, where you can see a 2,600 year old Egyptian mummy and unique replicas of King Tutankhamun’s treasures. 

For more information visit


Booking Details

No booking required


Please refer to Hull Museums for current opening hours and any other details. See below http:/ galleries

Additional Information

Contact for the day:JOHN NETHERWOOD